James Rouchon

This above all: to thine own self be true And it must follow, as the night the day Thou canst not then be false to any man.

Contact Farmland Seeker

To protect the privacy of our users, contact information is only available to registered users who are logged in. Registration is quick, easy, and free.

Login | Create an Account

Location: North Central, Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Granville, Guilford, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Vance, Yadkin, South Central, Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Cumberland, Gaston, Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Union

Looking for the following:

Type of opportunity:

Sale (Standard), Sale (Owner Financed), Internship / Mentorship. More info: Looking for a place to put my honey bees and start a PYO orchard so when I retire from the Marine Corps we have a head-start on our second life.

Current production on farm:

More info: Currently, only honey production and making of jams/ preserves from fruit grown at our current homesite using honey from our hives.

Current farming practices:

More info: I currently have eight hives but I'm looking to expand in the near future to 50+ to work the pollination circuit if I can find a place to put the hives upon completion of pollination efforts. I'm not certified organic, but I don't use chemicals in the hives or around the homesite (big fan of neem oil). Unfortunately, it is almost impossible to run organic hives as I cannot control their forage unless I own all the property within a 5 mile radius.

Qualifications and goals:

Previous farming experience:

Volunteer, Manager

Other qualifications:

More info: Certified Bee Keeper in the state of North Carolina.

Production goals:

Orchard, Vegetable production, Vineyard. More info: To build an orchard and vineyard while helping farmers with pollination efforts to ensure a successful crop for their farm and healthy bees on my end.

Personal experience and production goals summary:

I was raised on a Holstein Dairy Farm in Louisiana until my grandpa retired and my dad returned to the Navy. Being around agriculture my entire life with my family has allowed me to hit the wave tops; however, due to professional efforts in the Marine Corps I haven't been able to devote nearly as much as I'd want to agricultural practices.  We are slowly starting to gear up for life after the Corps and it starts with our bees and finding a safe place to put them to expand our efforts while simultaneously growing an orchard in the piedmont of North Carolina.