Sven MacAller

Looking for farm property with 30-40 tillable acres in North Central Region.

Contact Farmland Seeker

To protect the privacy of our users, contact information is only available to registered users who are logged in. Registration is quick, easy, and free.

Login | Create an Account

Location: North Central, Alamance, Chatham, Durham, Granville, Orange, Person

Total acres 85.0

Acres of cropland or tillable land 30.0

Looking for the following:

Type of opportunity:

Sale (Standard), Sale (Owner Financed). More info: My wife and I currently live in Oregon but are moving back to NC to be closer to our families. We are looking to buy a farm property in the North Central region. We are looking for approximately 30-40 acres of tillable land. We are open to considering properties with or without a house. Farm infrastructure (barn, shed etc.) is a big plus but open land is also an option that we would consider.

Equipment & infrastructure:

Barn, Fencing, Well / Pond / Other water source, Greenhouse, Livestock facilities, Farmer housing, Farm equipment, Irrigation equipment.

Current production on farm:

Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Fallow, Field crops, Hay or pasture.

Current farming practices:

Biodynamic, Conventional, Certified organic, Transitioning to organic, Ecological production but not certified, None, the property is not being farmed.

Qualifications and goals:

Previous farming experience:

Volunteer, Employee

Number of years experience:

10

Other qualifications:

More info: My parents have a produce farm in Orange County and I worked for other farmers in the area before I left NC for college. I am currently working as a civil engineer.

Production goals:

Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Field crops, Hay or pasture. More info: I am interested in growing grain for the local baker, brewers and distillers as well as other row crops that fit into a logical and sustainable rotation. I believe that the local craft brewing and distilling industries as well as bakers have a strong interest in locally produced and specialty varieties of grain and would provide a strong market for these products.

Personal experience and production goals summary:

I grew up in North Carolina and helped my parents with their successful produce farm in Orange County. I also worked for other farmers in the area and have always enjoyed the hard physical work, problem solving and creativity required to be a succesful farmer. I studied engineering in college and have been working as a Civil Engineer for several years. I enjoy the work but have found the office work environment unfulfilling. My wife and I currently live in Oregon but are moving back to NC to be closer to our families and are excited to pursue our farm dream.