Christine Noonan

Former agriculture teacher looking to live on a property where I can keep a garden and chickens and learn more about other aspects/running a farm business.

Contact Farmland Seeker

To protect the privacy of our users, contact information is only available to registered users who are logged in. Registration is quick, easy, and free.

Login | Create an Account

Location:

  • West
    • Buncombe
    • Henderson

Total acres 1.0

Acres of cropland or tillable land 0.3

Looking for the following:

Type of opportunity:

Lease (1 to 5 Years), Lease (5+ Years), Lease with Option to Buy, Internship / Mentorship, Incubator / Mentored Lease, Business Partnership, Employment, Employment with Transfer. More info: I am looking to move to the Asheville area. I have a degree in Animal Science and taught agriculture for 3 years. I am looking to live on a farm where I can garden, keep chickens, and learn more about any other aspects of agriculture present. I have experience with horses and goats in addition to chickens, and was previously a vet tech.

Equipment & infrastructure:

Farmer housing. More info: I would like to live on property. I have 2 indoor cats.

Current production on farm:

Aquaculture, Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Christmas trees, Fallow, Field crops, Flowers, Hay or pasture, Herbs, Hogs, Honey bees, Orchard, Poultry (Broiler/Layer), Sheep/Goat (Dairy/Meat), Vegetable production. More info: I am interested in all aspects of small scale agriculture.

Current farming practices:

Biodynamic, Conventional, Certified organic, Transitioning to organic, Ecological production but not certified, None, the property is not being farmed.

Qualifications and goals:

Previous farming experience:

Volunteer, Employee

Number of years experience:

10

Other qualifications:

Higher education in agriculture or related field. More info: I have a B.S. in Animal Science from University of Florida, previously taught agriculture at the middle and high school levels, and I have a passion for small scale intensively managed farming. I grew up with horses and gardens, and have lived on my own small farm for the past 3 years but am moving and would rather lease than buy again.

Production goals:

Aquaculture, Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Fallow, Field crops, Flowers, Hay or pasture, Herbs, Hogs, Honey bees, Orchard, Poultry (Broiler/Layer), Sheep/Goat (Dairy/Meat), Vegetable production.

Personal experience and production goals summary:

I would like to start by living on property and keeping my own garden and chickens, assisting in any existing enterprises and learning more. I do not have the capital to embark on a new business of my own at the present time, but I would be happy to grow into that over time.