Earon Cooper

Looking for a farm. Mentorship. Lease option, and incubator welcome.

Contact Farmland Seeker

To protect the privacy of our users, contact information is only available to registered users who are logged in. Registration is quick, easy, and free.

Login | Create an Account

Location:

  • West
    • Alleghany
    • Ashe
    • Avery
    • Buncombe
    • Burke
    • Caldwell
    • Cherokee
    • Clay
    • Graham
    • Haywood
    • Henderson
    • Jackson
    • Macon
    • Madison
    • McDowell
    • Mitchell
    • Polk
    • Rutherford
    • Swain
    • Transylvania
    • Watauga
    • Wilkes
    • Yancey

Total acres 50.0

Acres of cropland or tillable land 10.0

Looking for the following:

Type of opportunity:

Sale (Owner Financed), Lease (1 to 5 Years), Lease with Option to Buy, Internship / Mentorship, Employment with Transfer. More info: My grandparents were homesteaders in Oregon. I helped them with their orchard, beekeeping (processing the honey more than caring for the bees), gardening, and some land management. I have a degree in Environmental Science and I am interested in regenerative farming, permaculture, having a family dairy cow (not large scale dairy farming), cattle for beef, pigs, chicken both layers and broilers, and gardening. I am interested in helping to restore a fallow land or to eventually take over a working farm. I am new to large animal farming, but I have experience with milk goats (Alpine and Nubian). Although my preference is to not have goats, I am not against working with them.

Equipment & infrastructure:

Barn, Fencing, Well / Pond / Other water source, Greenhouse, Livestock facilities, Farmer housing, Farm equipment, Processing facilities, Irrigation equipment, Cold storage (cooler/freezer). More info: I would love to have any of the above, but must-haves would be farmer housing, I have a daughter, cat and dog, and a barn or something of the sort.

Current production on farm:

More info: I do not have a farm but I am interested in any of the above things. I would also love to raise grain-free animals, except for chickens of course, and raising hogs on a fodder heavy system.

Current farming practices:

Certified organic, Transitioning to organic, Ecological production but not certified, None, the property is not being farmed.

Qualifications and goals:

Previous farming experience:

Volunteer

Number of years experience:

1

Other qualifications:

Incubator program, Farm business training, Higher education in agriculture or related field. More info: I have a degree in Environmental Science that I am looking to use toward regenerative farming or similar practices. I am interested in incubator programs and farm business training.

Production goals:

Aquaculture, Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Fallow, Flowers, Hay or pasture, Herbs, Hogs, Honey bees, Orchard, Poultry (Broiler/Layer), Vegetable production. More info: If starting with bare land, my first and second-year goals would be to have one or two dairy cows and a bull for breeding, broilers/layers, and hogs. In addition, I would like to market garden.

Personal experience and production goals summary:

I am interested in Heritage breeds like the Gurnsey and I would like to grass-feed only. I would also like to have good broiler/layer production. I am interested in unique eggs like the Whiteing True Blue layers that McMurray hatchery sells, this may prove to be a novelty though. Also, hogs for meat. I am not sure I would want a breeding stock of hogs yet.